Regulation on Markets in Crypto Assets

Regulation on Markets in Crypto Assets

The european Commission yesterday adopted a new Digital Finance Package, including legislative proposals on crypto-assets . The ‘Regulation on Markets in Crypto Assets' (MiCA) will:

. . . boost innovation while preserving financial stability and protecting investors from risks. 

by a strange coincidence they have chosen the same accronym for these regulations as for an interception missle. MICA – Missile d’Interception, de Combat et d’Autodéfense» Could they be concerned about the instability of the Euro and the potential for the disruption of the financial system by blockchain technology (in particular its use to create 'Global stable coins')?

The text of the proposal for a regulation on markets in crypto assets can be found here:

https://ec.europa.eu/finance/docs/law/200924-crypto-assets-proposal_en.pdf

The timing of the legislation could not be more crucial as its objective is nothing less than to aid the EU’s economic recovery, presumable from the corona virus, although it is not explicitly mentioned. The aim is to regulate the transfer of digital assets within EU to prevent market fragmentation, whereby the rules are at odds in different states. The belief being that with legal certainty will come a growth in the market for crypto assets and a new era of funding for European businesses, large and small.

It is essential reading for anyone planning:

the custody and administration of crypto-assets on behalf of third parties;

 

the operation of a trading platform for crypto-assets;

 

to mint digital coins which are not ‘asset-referenced tokens’ or ‘e-money tokens’

 

to provide advice on crypto-assets;

Some facts which are pertinent in the section regarding Asset-referenced tokens (article 15), such as the type which Elements Energy will be issuing:

Where the annual turnover of asset-referenced tokens does not exceed 5 Million Euros there is an exemption from the need to be authorised by the National Competent Authority (NCA) of their home EU Member State

Where the assets are sold toqualified investorsand transfer to other types of investor are not permitted an exemption from authorisation also applies

In any case issuers will need to produce a ‘crypto-asset white paper’ whose content is prescribed in article 17.

Speculators at the fringes of the regulatory scene have estimated that such legislation may take 2 to 4 years to become a reality. The corona epidemic has precipitated an unprecedented existential panic in the global economy. The shear enormityof the- quantitative easing -called upon by the central bankers to sustain a common belief in business-as-usual has led others to question; is there not a better way? Is it possible that standard political protocol could be overtaken by the very events they are attempting to coordinate?

Share This

Copy Link to Clipboard

Copy

Le règlement sur les marchés de crypto-actifs

Regulation on Markets in Crypto Assets

La Commission européenne a adopté hier un nouvel ensemble de mesures sur la finance numérique, comprenant des propositions législatives relatives aux crypto-actifs. Le règlement sur les marchés de crypto-actifs (Regulation on Markets in Crypto Assets, ou MICA)

Stimulera l’innovation tout en préservant la stabilité financière et en protégeant les investisseurs contre les risques …

par une étrange coïncidence, ils ont choisi le même acronyme pour ces règlements que pour un missile d’interception «MICA – Missile d’Interception, de Combat et d’Autodéfense» Peut-être s’inquiètent-ils de l’instabilité de l’euro et du potentiel de perturbation du système financier par la technologie de la blockchain (et en particulier son utilisation pour créer des «global stablecoins»)?

Le texte de la proposition pour MiCA peut être trouvé ici

https://ec.europa.eu/finance/docs/law/200924-crypto-assets-proposal_en.pdf

Le moment de l’adoption de la législation ne saurait être plus crucial car son objectif n’est rien de moins que d’aider la relance économique de l’UE, présumée à cause du virus corona, bien que cela ne soit pas explicitement mentionné. L’objectif est de réglementer le transfert d’actifs numériques au sein de l’UE afin d’éviter la fragmentation du marché, les règles étant en contradiction dans les différents États. La conviction étant qu’avec la sécurité juridique viendra une croissance du marché des actifs cryptographiques et une nouvelle ère de financement pour les entreprises européennes, grandes et petites.

C’est une lecture essentielle pour quiconque envisage:

la conservation et l’administration de crypto-actifs pour le compte de tiers;

 

l’exploitation d’une plateforme de trading pour les crypto-actifs;

 

frapper des pièces numériques qui ne sont pas des «jetons référencés à des actifs» ou des «jetons de monnaie électronique»

 

fournir des conseils sur les crypto-actifs;

Quelques faits important de la section concernant les jetons référencés aux actifs (article 15), tels que le type qu’Elements Energy émettra:

Lorsque le chiffre d’affaire annuel des jetons référencés à des actifs ne dépasse pas 5 millions d’euros, il est dispensé de l’obligation d’être autorisé par l’autorité nationale compétente (ANC) de leur État membre de l’UE d’origine.

Lorsque les actifs sont vendus à des «qualified investors» et que le transfert à d’autres types d’investisseurs ne sont pas autorisés, une dispense d’autorisation s’applique également

Dans tous les cas, les émetteurs devront produire un «crypto-asset white paper» dont le contenu est prescrit à l’article 17.

Les spéculateurs en marge de la scène réglementaire ont estimé qu’une telle législation pourrait mettre de 2 à 4 ans à ce mettre en place. L’épidémie corona a précipité une panique existentielle sans précédent dans l’économie mondiale. L’énormité du cisaillement de «l ’assouplissement quantitatif» demandé par les banquiers centraux pour soutenir une croyance commune dans le statu quo a conduit d’autres à s’interroger; n’y a-t-il pas un meilleur moyen? Est-il possible que le protocole politique standard soit dépassé par les événements mêmes qu’ils tentent de coordonner?

Partager cet article

Copier le lien vers le presse-papiers

Copier